You are here

MTV News

MTV Brand New For 2013 Unsigned Voting Opens! 

309 acts have been shortlisted for the public vote, which closes next month...

The public vote for MTV Brand New For 2013‘s Unsigned Competition is now open!

With over 500 artists entering the competition following last month’s launch, MTV have  selected a shortlist of 309 entrants to go through to the public voting stage.

Once voting closes, the twenty artists with the most votes will be put in front of a panel of MTV editorial music experts who will pick an overall winner to be added to the final Brand New For 2013 shortlist.

The winner will be announced on 28th November at an exclusive showcase at the HMV Forum in London.

In it’s second year, the competition offers an unbelievable opportunity for an unsigned artist to get included on the prestigious annual new music shortlist, Brand New For 2013.

Last year, Context beat off over 2500 entrants to become the first-ever winner with over 19,000 people voting on the competition in total.

Since then the Norwich-born artist has been signed up by Emeli Sande’s management company and is currently working with top producers on his debut album destined for release next year.

MTV Brand New For 2013 will kick off in earnest on 28th November with the announcement of this year’s shortlist and the first of a series of three shows showcasing this year’s nominated artists.

After a public vote the overall winner will be announced in January, winning dedicated support across all of MTV’s networks for the rest of 2013.

With one of the most successful track-records for a new music poll, in the last five years MTV Brand New has identified international stars such as Lady GaGa, Justin Bieber and Lana Del Rey before their debut releases.

It has also selected top British music talent such as Tinie TempahAdeleFlorence + The MachineEllie GouldingJessie JFriendly FiresWhite LiesWretch 32, Labrinth and last year’s winner Conor Maynard at the very start of their recording careers.

Click here for full details on how to vote and a list of shortlisted unsigned artists. Voting stays open until 12th November.