Why You Need To Think Twice Before Screenshotting Someone’s Instagram Story
The tech world is officially out to get us.
If one of your favourite daytime activities is scrolling through Instagram Stories and screenshotting all the dumb stuff your friend’s ex posts on the social-media platform, then we have some crucial information for you to mull over.
While everyone knows the screenshotting on Snapchat is a major no-go area, Insta were always the platform that endorsed and – we like to think – encouraged users to get a little bit of joy out of preserving certain images on their camera roll.
Let's get checking out an update from MTV News...
It turns out we've all been lulled into a false sense of security, because the app have now announced that they’re trialling a feature where users are notified when someone screenshots their Instagram Story. Er, no thanks.
According to TechCrunch, the account holder will spot a camera shutter icon next to any screenshotters when checking who has viewed their story. The feature is only in the test stage at the moment, but certain users have already been affected by the update.
Those who are involved in the test stage will receive a warning on the app in the form of the following message: “Next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see."
While some user’s aren’t particularly thrilled with the feature, Instagram have announced that they’re always “testing new ways” to improve user experience and insist that everyone participating in the trial will be forewarned before they land themselves in any trouble.
Thoughts on this potentially devastating news with a tweet @MTVUK.