You are here

MTV News

Jessie J Shows Support For Music Is Great Week

The Price Tag star says she's 'so proud' to be British...

Jessie J has been selected as an ambassador for a new campaign that aims to celebrate the British music scene.

The Voice coach has shown her support of Music Is Great Week ahead of its launch on 14th May - which will showcase some of the most famous performances from British musicians.

Speaking of her involvement, the Laserlight hitmaker stated: “I’m so proud of being British, my accent says it all."

Jessie added: "I think it’s very important to be proud of where you’re from, and I don’t think anywhere is like the UK. I think music is a perfect way to celebrate and we make it very well.”

A DVD featuring performances from the likes of Queen, Adele and the Spice Girls is being released to kick start the campaign -  which will involve live footage, events and discussions on Great British Music.

A number of events will also be held during the week-long celebrations, which fans will be able to participate in.

All proceeds from the DVD will be awarded to charity, Save The Children.

To find out more about the event, check out

Full 'Music Is Great' DVD Track List

01 David Bowie / Ziggy Stardust Hammersmith Odeon, 1973

02 The Who / Won’t Get Fooled Again Shepperton Studios, 1978

03 Queen / Radio Gaga Wembley Stadium, 1986

04 Orbital / Chime Glastonbury Festival, 1994

05 Pulp / Common People Glastonbury Festival, 1995

06 Spice Girls / Wannabe/Who Do You Think You Are? BRIT Awards, 1997

07 Radiohead / Karma Police Glastonbury Festival, 1997

08 Robbie Williams / Let Me Entertain You Knebworth, 2003

09 Muse / Knights Of Cydonia Wembley Stadium, 2007

10 George Michael / Faith Earls Court, 2008

11 Blur / Tender Glastonbury Festival , 2009

12 Adele / Someone Like You BRIT Awards, 2011

13 Coldplay / Every Tear Is A Waterfall Glastonbury Festival, 2011

14 Take That / The Flood City of Manchester Stadium, 2011

Bonus track Amy Winehouse / Back to Black iTunes Festival , 2007 (available on iTunes download only)