You are here

MTV News

Rihanna - 'Talk That Talk' First Listen! 

EXCLUSIVE | Find out what MTV thought of RiRi's new LP here...

Rihanna is known for churning out hit after hit, and her new album Talk That Talk is no exception.

Despite RiRi being just 23-year's old, TTT is her sixth studio album - packed with just over 35 minutes of the Bajan babe at her best.

Following it's chart topping predecessor Loud, Talk That Talk sees RiRi experimenting with a whole hoard of musical genres, including dirty pop, dance, R&B and drum n' bass - especially on bonus track, Red Lipstick (Produced by Chase & Status).

The star has worked with the likes of Dr. Luke (Katy Perry, Ke$ha), Calvin Harris, The-Dream, Stargate (Britney Spears) and Alex Da Kid (Eminem, B.o.B) on a variety of tracks across the LP, which we got to hear at an exclusive playback today (10th November).

Stand out tracks include Rihanna's massive hit single We Found Love, her next release You Da One and Jay-Z collaboration and title track Talk That Talk - which her manager Jay Brown claimed "happened organically" between RiRi and Jigga.

Other favourites include the cheeky Cockiness (Love It) which bares a striking resemblance to controversial Loud track S&M, Roc Me Out (think Rude Boy), sexy song Watch n' Learn and Drunk On Love - which contains samples from the recording Intro, performed by The XX.

As well as singing about love, sex and general raunchiness, RiRi also expresses her more softer side on We All Want Love (which is almost a reply to We Found Love) and Alex Da Kid produced tune Farewell - a gut wrenching tale of saying goodbye to a lover.

The deluxe version also boasts of three more brand-spanking new songs, including Rihanna's Chase & Status club-banger Red Lipstick, Do Your Thing and Fool In Love - another dramatic ballad.

All in all, Talk That Talk shows Rihanna's versatility as an artist, displaying her sexual side alongside the experimentation of stepping out of her 'R&B' comfort zone and expressing herself through different musical genres.

If you were a fan of Loud, prepare to be completely won over as Rihanna is about to Talk That Talk, cementing her place as one of of the most interesting artists out there at the moment.

Talk That Talk is due for release 21st November!

Rihanna - Talk That Talk Deluxe Track-Listing

1. You Da One
2. Where Have You Been
3. We Found Love Feat. Calvin Harris
4. Talk That Talk Feat. Jay-Z
5. Cockiness (Love It)
6. Birthday Cake
7. We All Want Love
8. Drunk On Love
9. Roc Me Out
10. Watch n' Learn
11. Farewell

Bonus Tracks

12. Red Lipstick
13. Do Your Thing
14. Fool In Love

By Joanne Dorken


GET THE MTV BASE APP HERE! - Receive all the latest urban music news, countdown the MTV Base chart as soon as it’s released and vote for your favourite urban tracks.