You are here

MTV News

Robbie Williams Confirms New Swing Album

Swing Both Ways features duets with Michael Bublé, Lily Allen & more...

Robbie Williams has confirmed plans to release a new swing album.
The former Take That star will unleash Swing Both Ways in the UK on November 18.
Williams has once again teamed-up with Guy Chambers for the LP, which features collaborations with the likes of Lily Allen, Michael Bublé, Kelly Clarkson, Olly Murs and Rufus Wainwright.
The Candy singer has written six new tunes with Chambers, who has also produced the album.
Speaking of the record, Williams said: "First of all, I wanted to do a swing album because I wanted to do a swing album.
"I always knew I'd do another and I think now is the perfect time to do it. I'm enjoying showbiz and I'm enjoying my life and my understanding of where I am now is that there needs to be an event every time I bring out a record."
He continued: "The album this time is a definite ode and a loving glance towards a period on the planet that I was never invited to 'coz I wasn't there… I wanted to be, which I feel still very strongly linked to.
"Going in I planned it to be very similar to the last one, and then I realised – that's actually not what I wanted. It's different – it's not all covers. 
"I had some songs that I wanted the world to hear and check out and maybe become part of the fabric of their lives, if I'm lucky enough, that I've had a hand in writing."
Robbie added: "So it's very, very similar to the last one, and very different – and hopefully I'm off to romance the world!"
Williams first swing LP, Swing When You're Winning, has been certified seven times platinum since its release in 2001, and is his best-selling record to date.
Robbie Williams - Swing Both Ways tracklist:
1. 'Shine My Shoes' (new song)
2. 'Go Gentle' (new song)
3. 'I Wanna Be Like You' ft. Olly Murs
4. 'Swing Supreme'
5. 'Swings Both Ways' ft. Rufus Wainwright
6. 'Dream A Little Dream' ft. Lily Allen
7. 'Soda Pop' ft. Michael Bublé (new song)
8. 'Snowblind' (new song)
9. 'Puttin' On The Ritz'
10. 'Little Green Apples' ft. Kelly Clarkson
11. 'Minnie The Moocher'
12. 'If I Only Had A Brain'
13. 'No One Likes A Fat Pop Star' (new song)